Review – What’s A Girl Gotta Do?

waggd.jpg

Title: What’s A Girl Gotta Do?
Author: Holly Bourne
Published by: Usborne Publishing
Publication date: 1st August 2016
Pages: 432
Genres: Young Adult

HOW TO START A FEMINIST REVOLUTION:

  1. Call out anything that is unfair on one gender
  2. Don’t call out the same thing twice (so you can sleep and breathe)
  3. Always try to keep it funny
  4. Don’t let anything slide. Even when you start to break…

Lottie’s determined to change the world with her #Vagilante vlog. Shame the trolls have other ideas…

* * *

This is the third and final book in Holly Bourne’s Spinster Club trilogy. Anytime I’m asked to name my favourite YA novel, the first one I always say is Holly’s first novel Am I Normal Yet?, and knowing how perfectly she wrote about mental health in this book, I had high expectations as she tackled another topical issue with What’s A Girl Gotta Do?

Holly created the perfect character to carry out project #Vagilante in Lottie. She’s been voicing her strong feminist views throughout the previous two books in this trilogy, but I feel she was really developed in this final book, and was both a fun, interesting character, and a great role model to young people everywhere who want to make a difference. I loved Lottie’s fiery determination, and the unwavering support her friends Evie and Amber show throughout the novel. The three girls have an amazing friendship, and I was delighted to see this continued (along with their Spinster Club) in this book.

Another thing: Will. Gorgeous, charming . . . anti-feminist, maddening Will. As I was reading the novel, I was wondering how Holly was going to solve Will and Lottie’s tricky relationship (the characters have heaps of chemistry, but Lottie knows she cannot make anything of it when it when she disagrees so strongly with his views). I knew that eventually, Will would have to come around, and declare himself a feminist, if there was going to be any romance in the story. Will’s change of heart wasn’t what impressed me. It was the fact that Will said Lottie changed his mind the first time they met. Personally, I think this shows perfectly how so many of the people who disagree with feminism simply because they are misinformed, and how just by speaking up, a difference can be made.

I also loved how this book portrays teenagers, and teenage culture, so accurately. So many authors create characters who face a whole range of problems, from inequality to mental illnesses, and they are so focused on showing diversity and social awareness in their novels that they forget to make their characters real teenagers. Lottie is dramatic, over-the-top, wildly attracted to someone she shouldn’t be, uses social media, and vlogs. This is such a small thing, but for some reason it makes her 10 times more relatable as a character, as vlogging is something all teenagers in the twenty-first century connect with on almost a daily basis. And by creating these characters, and this world that they exist in, and then bringing in feminism and Lottie’s crazy-amazing plan, it makes it easier for every person reading it, to root for her and understand her plight. I already am a feminist, and I wouldn’t be surprised if What’s A Girl Gotta Do? convinced many others to call themselves feminists too.

Overall, this book was brilliantly written, with fantastic characters who all had amazing arcs. I couldn’t put this book down, and best of all, by the end of it, not only did I have that post-read fangirl feeling, but I also felt my feelings as a feminist quadruple in passion, and I think there is really something to say for a book that can evoke such a powerful feeling in its readers.

2 thoughts on “Review – What’s A Girl Gotta Do?

  1. Pingback: Empowering Romances For Valentine’s Day | My Shelf & Myself

  2. Pingback: Book Recs For International Women’s Day 2017 | My Shelf & Myself

Leave a Reply

