Autumn Releases

These are some books that have been released this October or November that I have yet to read. A few of them are floating around my house, shooting me betrayed looks every time I walk past because I haven’t read them yet, but I just haven’t had much free time these past couple of months. Nevertheless, these are books I am very excited to read. In the future I think I’ll try to make more posts like these, but on a monthly basis (e.g. January releases), and I’ll aim to do them at the beginning of the month.

holding-upHolding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

First up is Holding Up the Universe, the second novel from Jennifer Niven (author of All the Bright Places). Just from a glance, I really like the minimalist theme of the cover, which is one positive already. From reading the blurb, another thing I noticed was that the protagonist Libby is overweight, which is something you don’t often see in YA novels, or any novels really. Also, Jack, the high school’s ‘Mr Popular’, has a neurological disorder. Overall, I think this book is going to make for an enjoyable and stimulating read.

(more information on Holding Up the Universe here)

Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherlandour-chemical-hearts

Now, on Goodreads this book is described as ‘John Green meets Rainbow Rowell’ – so obviously, I have high hopes for Krystal Sutherland’s debut novel Our Chemical Hearts.  This story is about first love, and its healing qualities, as protagonists Henry and Grace find themselves in each other. I love the title of this book – something about references to science and the links between science and romance in love stories I just find really compelling, and I am very excited to read this.

(more information on Our Chemical Hearts here)

kisscam3. Kiss Cam by Kiara London

I actually already read this story about three years ago – on Wattpad. In my opinion, it was one of the best stories on that website, so it did not come as much of a surprise to me when I recently logged onto my neglected Wattpad account, searched ‘Kiss Cam’ (wanting to re-read it), and saw that it was being published. The story follows three vloggers, two of which are ‘shipped’ together by their fans, and tells of what happens when they decide to kiss (platonically) on camera. I think this story was actual written just before Youtube became an absolutely massive part of social media, but now more than ever it is completely on trend with modern teenage culture. I cannot wait to read (or re-read) this novel.

(more information on Kiss Cam here)

The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoonthe-sun-is-also-a-star

After Nicola Yoon’s fantastic debut novel Everything, Everything, I have high hopes for this book. From the moment I read the blurb of this book, I couldn’t wait for it to be released – from what I can tell, as well as an amazing romance between the protagonists Natasha and Daniel, this novel touches on important topics such as immigration, and shows how it impacts individual lives.

(more information on The Sun Is Also a Star here)

and-a-happy-new-year…And a Happy New Year? by Holly Bourne

Finally, I am very excited to read the new novella from Holly Bourne’s Spinster Club series. I have read and loved all three books in this series, and so was delighted when I heard this was being released. This book is set right before the new year, and everyone’s three favourite Spinster’s are reunited in time to celebrate a happy new year after going off to college separately from each other. I cannot wait to see what Evie, Amber and Lottie will get up to in this final installment in this series, although I am nowhere near ready to say goodbye to them!

(more information on …And a Happy New Year? here)

I didn’t want to do too many, so these are just a few books I really can’t wait to read. A lot of romance, but that’s my favourite branch of YA. How many of these have you read, and which would you recommend?

Leave a Reply

