I Dare You Book Tag

I have been tagged by Annike from Twin Tales Book Review to do the I Dare You Book Tag! It was created by Bookfandom1001, and don’t worry, the questions are not as daunting as the title suggests. There are three rules:

  • You must be honest
  • You can’t not answer a question
  • You have to tag at least four people

So here are my answers, which I have tried very hard to answer honestly!

1. Which book has been on your shelves the longest?

If we’re talking about the absolute longest, it would have to be The Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot – they’ve been on my shelf for about eight years!

2. What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next?

The last book I read was …And a Happy New Year? by Holly Bourne, and I’ve nearly finished The Yellow Room by Jess Vallance. Next I think I’m going to read The Leaving by Tara Altebrando (a book that’s been on my TBR list for months).

3. What book(s) did everyone like and you hated?

I think I’ve mentioned this in a previous tag, but I never really liked Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I wouldn’t go as far as to say I hated it, but I tried so hard to get into it and just couldn’t

4. Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

I keep meaning to continue the Throne of Glass series, but I really wasn’t enjoying the second book and my TBR list is so long, so I probably will just leave it.

5. Which book are you saving for “retirement?”

I don’t think I’ve ever really thought about this. I’m don’t think there is a book I’d want to save – my TBR list would become way too complicated if I tried to choose when I read things. That said, if I had to pick, I guess I’d say The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson, just for the name.

13486632

6. Last page: read it first or wait till the end?

WAIT TILL THE END. If you already know how it ends, doesn’t that defeat the point of reading the book? The only time I don’t wait until the end is if I get tired of a book halfway, or if I don’t like the writing but still want to find out the end of the story.

7. Acknowledgements: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside?

To be honest, I rarely read the acknowledgements and if I do, it’s only sometimes that I find them interesting. However I do think it’s important to acknowledge everyone involved in publishing a book (kinda like the credits at the end of a movie).

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

city_of_bones

Literally any of them. Except maybe someone from The Hunger Games. Someone who immediately comes to mind is Clary from The Mortal Instruments, because she gets to fight demons and Jace is one of my absolute favourite fictional characters.

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life?

I have different memories associated with different books – for example, if I ever reread any of the Divergent trilogy, I remember being late for school because I’d decided to finish Allegiant when I woke up and ended up in tears on my bed.

10. Name a book you acquired in some interesting way?

Most of my books are from bookshops or charity shops, so the most interesting one is probably Adorkable by Sarra Manning, which I got at the swap shelf at YALC last year (it was just a little shelf set up at the venue where you could add a book, and then take a book).

11. Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person?

One of my best friends moved away, and we both really love The Mortal Instruments, so I got my copy signed for her at YALC 2015 as a surprise for when I next saw her.

12. Which book has been with you to the most places?

Maybe The Kissing Booth by Beth Reekles. Also, a few years ago when I was a massive Twilight fan I would take one of the books from the series everywhere with me, but nowadays I read books quite quickly, and mostly in the evenings, so they don’t travel with me as much.

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

Not really. I don’t tend to dislike school books in the first place (I just find them a little dull at times).

14. What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book?

Nothing massively interesting – a few receipts and train tickets. I may have found something else in the past but just can’t remember it.

15. Used or brand new?

I don’t like it when books I own are really battered, but at the same time I have to focus so much on not breaking the spine if it’s brand new. I think I prefer books when they’re second-hand, but still in good condition.

16. Have you ever read a Dan Brown?

Nope.

17. Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book?

One Day by David Nicholls. I’m a big fan of romances, but I find the writing style in adult romances a bit dull sometimes, so I lean more towards their movie counterpart.

18. A book that NEVER should have been published.

I think this question is a bit harsh – obviously there are books I don’t enjoy (an example being question 3), but there will always be people who do enjoy a book, and find it helpful in some way. So unless a book is really offensive, or promoting a bad message, there’s no reason for a book not to have been published.

19. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks being excluded from this question?

Not really, although in Heartless by Marissa Meyer the main character is a really enthusiastic baker, and some of her descriptions of food made me a little peckish.

20. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

My sister Jess and I have really similar taste in books so she always recommends books I really like. Also, my friend Emma always recommends me amazing fantasy series.

***

This was a really fun tag to do, so thank you again to Annike for tagging me! Rules are rules, so the four people I have tagged are:

(also, this happened in my last tag, but if you’ve already done this I’m very sorry, I have tried to check!)

7 thoughts on “I Dare You Book Tag

  1. Pingback: Tag Tuesday | I Dare Book Tag – Lost In A Story

Leave a Reply

