Deck the Hauls

Yes, yes, I know: Christmas was yesterday, ’tis no longer the season to be jolly and all that. But I received a number of bookish things for Christmas, so I thought I would share my haul with you!

_20161225_223035.JPG

YALC tickets!

This was a gift from my parents, and I couldn’t be more excited – I’m going to YALC 2017! I have the 3 Day Pass, which is absolutely fab. As far as I know the itinerary hasn’t been published yet, but from my 2015 experience, and from what I saw online from t
his year, it just gets better and better.

We Should All Be Feminists

This is a book-length essay by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie on, as the title suggests, why we should all be feminists. This was a gift from my form Secret Santa, and I thought it was pretty awesome (especially since most people opt for an easy gift such as chocolate or soap). I’ve read the first few pages and it looks really interesting!

City of Halves

City of Halves by Luci Ingles has caught my eye multiple times, and so I was so pleased to find it under the tree. My sister Jess (bookendsandendings) said that this caught her eye because of the words ‘a must for fans of The Mortal Instruments‘ on the cover. The blurb is a little vague, but from what I could tell it’s about an invisible magical world with creatures to fight and a mystery to solve (and possibly a love interest . . .?) – I can’t wait to read it!

Book vouchers

Instead of lots of books, I received book vouchers to get them myself (we all know that it’s much easier choosing books for yourself than for other people). My TBR list is a mile long, and the shops reopen tomorrow so I’m going to be very busy browsing bookstores!

***

This isn’t a massive haul, but I think any book haul is worth some excitement – and I couldn’t resist making the title a pun! I also got so much tea; I’ve had to clear a whole shelf for it in my kitchen. I think tea is also a pretty thoughtful present (most of it is chai tea, my favourite kind), as my friends know how much I love to have a cup of tea to hand whilst reading.

I hope you all had a good Christmas, and I would love to hear about any book-related gifts you received, or any presents that you particularly loved!

Leave a Reply

