January Wrap Up & The Month Ahead

janwrapup

This year, I have decided to start doing monthly overviews on my blog. January has been quite a busy month for me, and honestly I hope to read a bit more over February, but this month has still been quite eventful!

In this wrap up, I want to cast an eye over everything I read this month, celebrating my favourites, as well as talking about a few other highlights of my month! I also will be drawing attention to upcoming releases that I am excited for!

Something else I have decided to do is start setting myself monthly goals to do with my blog – as I mentioned in my Bookish New Year Resolutions, I want to work on different aspects of my blog, for example the layout, and this will help me do so!

Book of the Month

My favourite book of this month would have to be a toss up between The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury and Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare. Both are part of a series – The Sleeping Prince is a sequel, and TFTSA is a series of novellas for The Mortal Instruments series. I really loved being back in the Shadowhunter world, and I also found that I loved The Sleeping Prince even more than the first novel. So, it has to be both this month.

February Spotlight

32827036The first book is out already – Ink by Alice Broadway is about a society where all your significant life events are tattooed onto your skin, and turned into a Skin Book when you die. However Leora, the protagonist, realises that things in her society aren’t as straightforward as they seem when she discovers her father’s Skin Book has been edited. There has been a lot of hype surrounding this book and I am super excited to read it!
a394096150de929127912a3a7ca380c3The second book is one I have been lucky enough to read already – Heartless by Marissa Meyer comes out in the UK on the 9th, and although I have read it, I am so excited for it to come out because I loved it so much and I cannot wait to be able to share my feelings about it more openly! It is the story of how the Queen of Hearts from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland got her name, and it is such a clever story, with so many brilliant links to the original book (I reviewed Heartless in more detail last week on my blog).

New Books!

This month, I received some amazing books from the Scholastic Bloggers’ Book Feast (which I cannot wait to read). I also bought myself a copy of Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy which, as I’ve mentioned above, I have already read and enjoyed!

 

The little things:

  • A book I discovered – City of Halves (by Lucy Inglis) was given to me as a Christmas present. I’d never heard of this, but it was right up my street as a urban-fantasy novel!
  • A blogging thing I did – I was lucky enough to go to the Scholastic Bloggers’ Book Feast at the start of the month! It was tons of fun, and I did a full wrap up of it here.
  • How my challenges are going – so far, I have read 2 books for the Beat the Backlist challenge; I only set myself a goal of 15, but I’m thinking of increasing it.
  • Music I have enjoyed – this is one I find slightly odd. For a lot of this month, I have been listening to the Twilight soundtrack. I just find it quite relaxing, as all the songs are so familiar (from my Twi-hard days), and so I’ve just really enjoyed having it on in the background.
  • A TV show I have enjoyed – this month I got back into Shadowhunters. Honestly, the plot isn’t perfect, and the characterisation makes me what to scream in frustration at times, but I’m emotional invested in the story and so overall I am enjoying it.
  • Goal for February – I want introduce a star-rating for my reviews, as I currently do not have one. If anyone has any tips on this (e.g. is it better to use stars or a different symbol?) please let me know!

This month I read . . .

  1. Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare
  2. The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury
  3. Rebel Bully Geek Pariah by Erin Jade Lange
  4. City of Halves by Lucy Inglis
  5. We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  6. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling (reviewed)

What have you read and enjoyed this month? And is there anything you are particularly looking forward to in February?

Leave a Reply

