The Book Fests Awards

award

Today I will be doing the Book Fests Award – thnk you so much to Emily from Always Opinionated Girl for nominating me, this was definitely one of the most fun award/tag that I’ve done!

THE RULES:

  • It’s always proper and the right thing to do, when you receive something from someone, you thank them. It’s the same with this award. You can link the blogger who presents the award blog in the post you use to fulfill the requirements of the award.
  • Answer the award questions that will be listed below.
  • Write a Fifty Words Story, because it’s fun.
  • Award five or more bloggers with this Award.
  • Ask them a question of your making, you’ll like them to answer.
  • Put up the award image badge on your blog via image widget.

A book you started but never finished…but want to finish. What stopped you from continuing to read it?

I think I’ve mentioned this a couple of times when answering this sort of question, but for me it was the second or third book in the Throne of Glass series (I’m not sure which). I just found the romance was starting to become really clichéd and forced – the book would switch between multiple POVs at completely random times and it began to irritate me. That said, there was some brilliant description and it was a great plot so I do think I will go back to the series at some point.

What elements attract you to a book, which makes you need to read it?

Sadly, a good cover will automatically attract my attention, as well as an interesting blurb. But genre wise, I am immediately drawn to urban fantasies, and any sort of dystopian which stands out (even though that trend ended ages ago)!

Which books do you prefer, e-copy or hard copy?

Hard copy. Every time. Yes, there is the advantage of eBooks being much more portable, but nothing will ever beat having a physical copy in your hands. Plus, they’re so very aesthetic (you can’t put a kindle on your bookcase).

What book are you currently reading or going to read next?

As of the time I wrote this, I just finished A Quiet Kind of Thunder (in less than 3 hours; it was fantastic). Next I’m planning on reading The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury, and I’m super excited for it!

Is it fair to judge a book by its film?

Definitely not! Take the Percy Jackson movie, or the TMI movie for example – those were complete flops, and were not an accurate depiction of the books at all. A film adaptation of a book can either be really wonderful, really disappointing, or good but in a different way. It’s impossible to pass judgement on a book based on what you’ve seen on a screen.

What book did you badly judge by its cover and ended up loving?

My answer is the same as Emily’s for this one: The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. A couple of years ago, my mum asked me if I wanted the TMI series for Christmas, and I turned my nose up at the cover and said no. A few months later I gave City of Bones a try and literally could not put it down.

Which book character have you felt the most kin with and able to relate with?

So many! Hermione was the first (of course), and since then I have read so many stories with protagonists with personality traits I identify strongly with – for example, Amber in How Hard Can Love Be? I found to be extremely relatable.

If you could trade lives with one book character, who would it be and why?

It would have to be any character from the Harry Potter universe (one that went to Hogwarts). Obviously all the adventures the trio went on were amazing, but personally I think I’d prefer to be a background character and just enjoy being at Hogwarts!

My question: what’s a book that you have absolutely loved, but nobody else seems to have heard of?

My story: once there was a girl who really loved the Bee Movie. She watched it everyday without fail. In fact, she loved it so much that she got a degree in beekeeping and went on to free all the bees around the world. Which was great for them but we never had honey again. RIP. The end.

This was tons of fun, and I hope you enjoyed reading my answers! If you have any answers of your own you want to share, please let me know in the comments!

I nominate:

Lia from Imaginary Places on Paper

Rachel from Rustling Reads

Jess from Bookends And Endings

Sarah from Sarah Withers Blog

Donna from Chocolate n Waffles

Annike and Zoe from Twin Tales Book Reviews

6 thoughts on “The Book Fests Awards

  1. Pingback: February Wrap Up & The Month Ahead | My Shelf & Myself

  2. Pingback: New York Times ‘By The Book’ Tag and The Book Fests Award!! | Twin Tales

Leave a Reply

