Review – The Scarecrow Queen

31291543Title: The Scarecrow Queen
Author:  Melinda Salisbury
Published by: Scholastic UK
Publication date: 2nd March 2017
Pages: 320, hardcover
Genre: fantasy, young adult, romance

The final battle is coming . . .

As the Sleeping Prince tightens his hold on Lormere and Tregellan, the net closes in on the ragged band of rebels trying desperately to defeat him. Twylla and Errin are separated, isolated, and running out of time. The final battle is coming, and Aurek will stop at nothing to keep the throne forever . . .

Explosive, rich and darkly addictive, this is the stunning conclusion to Mel Salisbury’s internationally best-selling trilogy that began with The Sin Eater’s Daughter.

***

After finishing The Sleeping Prince last month, I went to great lengths to get my hands on the third book as quickly as possible. I went to the What Makes A Girl Strong? talk in London (which was absolutely fabulous), and then I went straight online and ordered The Scarecrow Queen. To my delight it came straight away and I was able to take it on holiday with me a week or so ago (and now my collection is complete!).

Yes, I know. I did a review of Mel’s last book, The Sleeping Prince very recently, but dammit, I loved this book so I’m doing another review for The Scarecrow Queen.

One of my favourite things about this novel was the character development. Starting with the positive development, Twylla changed enormously throughout the trilogy, especially in this last book. She went from a withdrawn, afraid girl to a leader, and I thought the ending was the perfect result for this. As for Lief – talk about a character arc going downhill! He completely deteriorated throughout the book, but the way it was written made it totally realistic. I think this was because he still showed glimpses of his humanity (his protectiveness towards his mother and Errin, his still-there love for Twylla), but ultimately, he wasn’t strong enough to do the right thing – unlike Errin and Twylla. There was a little redemption for him at the end, but I think it was important that he wasn’t glorified last-minute. Although my heart did break a bit.

The relationships in this book were absolutely gorgeous. Whether it be Errin and Merek’s adorable friendship (which did not create a love triangle, much to my relief), the slow burn romance between Twylla and Merek, or the maternal bond that developed between Twylla and Hope, they were all carefully drawn out throughout the duration of the book. Even more minor characters like Stuan were woven into the story so well that the dynamics between all of them kept my eyes glued to the page. Honestly, I would’ve liked a little more of Errin/Silas in this book, but that’s just because I am a die-hard romantic and I fell in love with their love in The Sleeping Prince – I am currently keeping my fingers crossed for a novella of some sort to satisfy my fangirl heart.

The storyline of both The Sin Eater’s Daughter and The Sleeping Prince were both fantastic, and quite separated in many ways as they were each told from a different perspective. And somehow, in The Scarecrow Queen, Melinda was able to combine elements from both previous books, plus some of the linking plot, plus an entirely new one. I really enjoyed seeing the two alternating POVs (of Twylla and Errin) slowly draw together as the story unfolded. Also, often in fantasy stories it seems as if the author has made something up at the last-minute to resolve everything. However, in this case, once I’d reached the end all I could think was damn, that was so so clever.

I’m not going to talk about the endings because that would be unfair on those who haven’t read it, but let me just tell you that I was sat, unable to breathe, wildly hitting my sister with excitement for pretty much all of the last 100 pages or so. I would really, really recommend you pick up a copy The Scarecrow Queen as soon as you can, or the first book if you haven’t started the trilogy, because you will fall in love with the story, the world and the characters, just as so many people in the YA community have already (plus, I always like having more people to fangirl with!).

5stars

 

6 thoughts on “Review – The Scarecrow Queen

  1. Isn’t it AMAZING?! Your review of it is perfect too and I agree with every single point you made. congratulate you on managing to write a review that wasn’t a flailing mess like mine was! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

