February Wrap Up & The Month Ahead

This is my second month of wrap-ups and I am very glad I started doing them, as I’ve found it to be really helpful in keeping track of everything I’ve done throughout the month! I got so much reading done in February, so I have a lot to say in this post.

In this wrap up, I want to cast an eye over everything I read this month, celebrating my favourites, as well as talking about a few other highlights of my month! I also will be drawing attention to upcoming releases that I am excited for!

Book of the Month

Again, it’s got to be two: The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury, the finale to the Sin Eater’s Daughter trilogy. And also Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, as I read the first book in that trilogy this month and absolutely LOVED it. As you can see, I really enjoyed fantasy YA in February.

March Spotlight

damageThere are two books in particular I would like to mention that are being published this month – today in fact, on the 2nd! The first is The Scarecrow Queen (pictured above) and the second is Damage by Eve Ainsworth. This is a story about self-harm, and I am very much looking forward to reading it as I know that Eve Ainsworth’s previous books, in which she tackles other important topics, were very well written and moving.

 

New Books!

The only new book I bought this month was The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury, but I was also sent a copy of The Auctor Trilogy by T. R. Wolf which I will be reading and reviewing at some point in March!

The little things:

  • A book I discovered – The Program (by Suzanne Young). I saw this book in the library  earlier in the month and decided to take it out, despite definitely not having the space in my bag. It’s a dystopian novel about an epidemic of depression hitting the teenage population, and I found it pretty interesting.
  • A blogging thing I did – not so much a ‘blogging’ thing, but I went to Melinda Salisbury, Sara Barnard, Katherine Webber and Catherine Doyle’s What Makes A Girl Strong talk in London. It was really entertaining and I had lots of fun listening to their panel and talking to lots of lovely people afterwards!
  • How my challenges are going – this month, I read 3 books for my Beat the Backlist challenge – that’s 5 in total. One third of the way there already!
  • Music I have enjoyed – I made myself a small Youtube playlist this month which I have been listening to a lot. It consists of a few Troye Sivan songs, Taylor Swift and Zayn’s new song, and Ed Sheeran’s ‘Shape of You’.
  • A movie I have enjoyed – I rewatched The Martian this month, and it was just as great as I remembered!
  • Goal for February – I wanted to introduce a star-rating for my reviews, and I have done that! So far the books I officially reviewed were two I enjoyed immensely and gave five stars, but I also rated all the books I read during my WiFi-less Readathon.
  • Goal for March – I want to start cross-posting my reviews to Goodreads. I don’t usually use my Goodreads account except to keep track of my TBR, but I think that if I’ve written a review I might as well.

This month I read . . .

  1. The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers
  2. A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard
  3. The Program Suzanne Young
  4. When We Collided by Emery Lord
  5. Love and Other Man-Made Disasters by Nicola Doherty
  6. The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury
  7. Severed Heads, Broken Hearts by Robyn Schneider
  8. An Ideal Husband by Oscar Wilde
  9. Show Stopper by Hayley Barker
  10. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
  11. The Great Gatsby by Scott Fitzgerald
  12. Optimists Die First by Susin Nielson
  13. Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland
  14. Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

This month I posted . . .

 

What have you read and enjoyed this month? And is there anything you are particularly looking forward to in March?

3 thoughts on “February Wrap Up & The Month Ahead

Leave a Reply

