My TBR Cannot Handle All These Releases

As I’ve mentioned in a lot of my blog posts this year, I am aiming to catch up on older books I want to read, especially 2016 releases I haven’t gotten around to reading yet (the Beat the Backlist Challenge has been super helpful for that). However, every month there’ll be a few new releases, and I’ll scroll through my Reader looking at all the reviews and hauls and just add more and more 2017 books to my TBR. AND I CANNOT HANDLE IT. I have decided that I simply have to talk about some of these books now before I implode.

I have opted to leave out January 2017 releases, as otherwise this post would be even longer than it already is. The majority of the February releases I actually have to get myself a copy, and on top of that a lot of these haven’t actually come out yet. I think the anticipation might kill me.

Narrowed down to 12, some recent/upcoming releases I want to read are:

Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton (February) – I still remember all of the hype surrounding Rebel of the Sands at YALC 2015; her agent Molly Ker Hawn told me that it was going to be one of the leading YAs of 2016 and they were right! I absolutely loved the first book and I’m so excited to read the next one!

Ink by Alice Broadway (February) – I first heard about this book at the Scholastic Bloggers Book Feast in January, and I CANNOT WAIT to read it. This is about a world where all significant life events are tattooed onto your skin, and made into a ‘Skin Book’ when you die; when the protagonist’s father dies, she finds there are things missing from his Skin Book, and the story continues from there. I have told this brief description to a number of my friends and they have literally all been as in awe as me. This book I do own a copy of, and I am hoping to start it this month!

Caraval by Stephanie Garber (February) – I have seen so much about this book online, and I am super SUPER excited for it. I’ve seen it categorised on Goodreads as Fantasy, YA and Romance, which are literally my three favourite things. I feel as if I can’t read this soon enough, and as soon as I get the time, I’m going to make sure I get a copy!

Damage by Eve Ainsworth (February) – This is a story about self-harm, and after reading other books by Eve Ainsworth, such as Crush, I fully this book to be written in a sensitive and informative way; I am very much looking forward to reading this.

Frogkisser! by Garth Nix (February) – This is a Middle Grade book, which I do not normally read a lot of, but it is a fairytale retelling, and sounds like a lot of fun, so I do really want to read this!

The State Of Grace by Rachael Lucas (April) – This is another book that I have heard so many positive things about. It is the story of a girl called Grace with Asperger’s, and her life as she discovers how she fits in the world. I can already tell that this book has such a positive message, and I am absolutely itching to read it and join in with the discussions about it!

The Hate U Give (April) – This book is literally everywhere at the moment. And it hasn’t even come out in the UK yet! I’m sure most of you know what it is about, and I think the topics that it covers (specifically, racism) are really important and it looks like it is a truly stunning novel.

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli (April) – I bought Becky’s first book, Simon vs The Homosapien Agenda at YALC in 2015, and I read it that same day. I adore her style of writing and I think this book looks absolutely fab!

Release by Patrick Ness (May) – Is there anyone who isn’t excited for this book? I think not. This new story by Patrick Ness is about a gay teen, and one extraordinary day that will change his life. When I first heard about this book not too long ago, I was immediately filled with that feeling of bookish longing (you know the one), and it hasn’t quite gone away since.

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare (May) – I absolutely love all of the books in the various Shadowhunter series. As in, as I am writing this write now, in front of me on my desk is a row of books containing the entire of The Infernal Devices and The Mortal Instruments. I have been waiting for this book ever since I finished Lady Midnight last year, and I think the waiting might actually kill me.

Countless by Karen Gregory (May) – This is another book which covers a really important topic. It is the story of a girl with an eating disorder, but she is pregnant and so is forced to think about what her illness could mean for her baby. I think this sounds like such an interesting book and I am counting down the days until May when it is released.

Truth or Dare by Non Pratt (June) – This is Non Pratt’s new upcoming novel, and I am so excited for it. At the moment I don’t know masses about it, but it seems like a really diverse, interesting book, and Non Pratt is a fantastic writer (also, my slightly superficial side also thinks that the cover is very very cute)

 

All of these books I really want to read and review – since I’ve started blogging my enjoyment for reviewing books has increased so much. I don’t know why. I just really like thinking about what I do/don’t like, and discussing it with other people.

I often don’t get around to writing about upcoming releases in one post like this, so maybe I’ll make this into a series of sorts? Let me know if you’d like that! And have any of you read/want to read any of these books?

 

7 thoughts on “My TBR Cannot Handle All These Releases

  1. I have been avoiding looking at new releases to stick to my TBR, then I started projects and I can tell you I haven’t touched a single of the books I had planned for the BeatTheBacklist challenge, hahah!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: March Wrap Up & The Month Ahead | My Shelf & Myself

Leave a Reply

