Book Recs For International Women’s Day 2017

Today I thought I’d just share with you a few books that I think are perfect for International Women’s Day. These are all books published by women, and they all contain either wonderful female protagonists, or an important message about society and women (or both!). I have reviewed a couple of these books, so if you would like to hear more about my thoughts just click on the added links!

Just a side note: I started out with one series, and ended up with all of these. I quite easily could’ve included half my bookshelf.

DSC_0254

First up is The Spinster Club series by Holly Bourne – all three of these girl are incredibly strong in their own right. I adore this series and I think this series is perfect for people of all ages, and is perfect for teaching girls how to stand up for themselves in this day and age!

DSC_0258

Next is The Sin Eater’s Daughter series by Melinda Salisbury. Do I talk about this series too much? Possibly, but it is so fantastic I can’t bring myself to care! The two main female characters, Twylla and Errin, are both SUPER empowering, and actually, pretty much all of the females in this book are really strong and stand up for themselves. I couldn’t recommend this series more!

DSC_0252

The final series on my list is Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton. I read the this book last year, and it has stuck with me ever since due to the fab plot and amazing protagonist, Amani. I have yet to read the sequel, Traitor to the Throne, but I am confident that it will be just as excellent, and Amani will continue to be one of my favourite strong females in YA.

DSC_0256

Lastly, I couldn’t help but pick out three books that I also have really strong female leads. The first is Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill, which, to be honest, although the main character freida is portrayed as very weak throughout the book, I think the story holds a really powerful message about feminism and society’s depiction of women, which is why it is included on this list. Secondly is The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr, which tells the story of a girl with anterograde amnesia. Again, this is a protagonist who doesn’t seem particularly strong at the beginning of the book, however this drastically changes throughout the story. My last pick was Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall. In this book, the main character Norah has agoraphobia, and struggles with her life and her illness – this book, as well as having a fantastic protagonist, also helps to increase understanding of mental health issues, and I would really urge you to read it!

I hope these recommendations have been interesting or helpful! What are your recs for International Woman’s Day?

2 thoughts on “Book Recs For International Women’s Day 2017

  1. Pingback: My Life in Books Tag | My Shelf & Myself

  2. Pingback: March Wrap Up & The Month Ahead | My Shelf & Myself

Leave a Reply

