Review – The Auctor Trilogy

(Disclaimer: this book was sent to me by the author in exchange for an honest review. All views are my own)

32941084Title: The Auctor Trilogy
Author:  T. R. Wolf
Published by: Self-published
Publication date: 28th November 2016
Pages: 337, eBook
Genre: fantasy, young adult, romance

When seventeen-year-old Addie Auctor’s mother is murdered by her father, she must confront many secrets that her family has hidden from her. The worst of these secrets is that Addie’s father, Donovan Hawthorne, is still hunting Addie because of an ancient blood feud between her mother’s family, the Auctors, and her father’s family, the House of Hawthorne. In order to be protected from the House of Hawthorne, Addie and her brother, Augustus, are sent to Initiation at an exclusive University, the Wicked Cabal.
Initiation is nothing like Addie expects. She is immediately separated from Augustus and thrown in with four complete strangers – Fallon, Maddox, Liam, and Tempe. Addie must try to forge friendships with her fellow Initiates while they solve clues, battle mystical creatures, and explore increasingly dangerous places.
Readers of all ages will love this adventure filled with suspense, treachery, and romance.

***

The author of The Auctor Trilogy, T. R. Wolf, emailed me a few weeks ago asking if I would like to review her book on my blog. After reading the description I thought it sounded really interesting – I am a huge fan of fantasy stories, especially those which also contain some romance!

The first thing I want to talk about is the dynamic between the characters. The Initiation group, consisting of Addie, Tempe, Maddox, Liam and Fallon, worked wonderfully together throughout the novel. They didn’t all get on straight away, but that wouldn’t have been realistic, and I loved seeing them all bond as they faced Initiation together. In particular, I loved the friendship between Addie and Tempe – I think that having female characters that support each other is super important in YA. The individual characters were all so different from one another; for example, Fallon was preoccupied with being a good leader and doing right by his friends. Liam was more laid back, and Maddox was extremely protective of the group. In fact, at times I found Maddox was too protective, and gave off that superior alpha-male vibe that male characters often have in literature. But he clearly cares about things and people very intensely, so I’m sure I can forgive him!

The plot was so much fun to read. It was somehow both heart-stoppingly action packed and light-hearted (this was probably a result of the aforementioned lovely dynamic between the characters). I wasn’t expecting it to be so focused on the Initiation, but I am glad that it did, as it meant there was so much exploration of this throughout the book. I really enjoyed the adventurous feel the story had.

I’ll be honest – I was very frustrated with Addie for the first part of the book. She was extremely dependent on her brother, Augustus, and put herself down a lot in terms of her appearance and her capabilities. I was also a little uncomfortable with the fact that her brother gave her ‘magical water’ to calm her nerves, and that she just accepted this and the fact that she was too weak to handle her own emotions. However, throughout the book her confidence and self-assurance grew massively, which I found really rewarding to read, and I know she will continue to develop as a character in the next book.

I thought the descriptions in this book were absolutely brilliant. For me especially, I find it completely essential, when reading a fantasy book, that the world-building is detailed and interesting. There has clearly been so much care put into creating the world in which the characters live, and it made the story easy to get absorbed in!

This book was a really fun read. I feel that although at times the characters had problematic aspects to them, they were all very real and easy to grow attached to. The Auctor Trilogy is available as an eBook on Amazon, and the sequel, The Wicket Cabal, is out in April. If you are a fan of fantasy stories jam-packed with adventure, I would recommend you find out more about this book!

3stars

3 thoughts on “Review – The Auctor Trilogy

Leave a Reply

