Books I’ve Read In 1 Sitting

We’ve all been there – starting a book, being unable to put it down, thinking Who needs sleep anyway?, and then a few hours later, emerging with one more book ticked off your TBR. Of course, we all know that if you really put your mind to it, this is possible with any book. Anything can be finished in one sitting if you have the time and willpower.

I will have to make a part two to this, as this is not all of the books I have read in one sitting, but today I thought I would talk about six of them!

Life on the Refrigerator Door by Alice Kuipers – this is the fasted I have read a book; I read this about three years ago, and it took me half an hour. To be fair, it is quite a short book (told entirely in post it notes on the refrigerator door), but it was very moving and I thought it was a really interesting way to tell a story.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli – I bought this book at YALC in 2015, started it when I got home that day . . . and finished it before the day was up. I absolutely adored this book; not only is it an amazing story about a gay teen coming to terms with his sexuality, but at the same time it is just an adorable romance (her next novel, The Upside of Unrequited, is out in April and I am SO excited)!

Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne – I have raved about this book for so long; this is perhaps my favourite out of all of Holly Bourne’s books! I also bought Am I Normal Yet? at YALC 2015, but rather than wait until I got home, I read it throughout the day, whilst I was sitting in signing queues or waiting for a panel to start. I literally could not put this down – the story was fantastic, and Holly’s writing style is PERFECTION.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – I read this book last year on a coach journey when the coach broke down, and we were stuck on a main road for multiple hours. To pass the time, I thought I’d start reading a new book, and I had Everything, Everything on my Kindle. Once I’d started it, I could not put it down, and by the time the coach started again, I had finished it! This book is also being made into a movie, and I would really recommend you read it if you have not already!

The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury – I have talked about this book non-stop over the last month, and I’m going to talk about it some more! I read this book, which is the final book in The Sin Eater’s Daughter trilogy, during my WiFi-less Readathon, and it. Was. Stunning. I read this book in one afternoon, and I literally only stopped to do functional things, such as eat dinner and breathe. It was amazing. That is all. Read it. I reviewed this book at the beginning of the month if you want to hear more about how much I loved it!

Damage by Eve Ainsworth – this is the most recent book that I have read in one sitting. Last week I read (and reviewed) Damage, and I really enjoyed it. This is another book I would 100% recommend, as not only is it about self-harm (covering the topic in a super sensitive way), but it is also written in a very accessible way!

 

I would love to hear about your thoughts on any of the books mentioned above! Which books have you read in one go? And did you do so because of the book length, the circumstance, or because the book was just that good?

 

7 thoughts on “Books I’ve Read In 1 Sitting

  1. I loved Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda! I didn’t read it in one go but during the second half I just couldn’t stop reading. I have yet to read a Holly Bourne book but I’ve heard amazing things about them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Look forward to reading Melinda Sailsbury’s trilogy. I will look into your other recommendations. I read Marcus Sedgwick’s Midwinterblood in one go, and have reread it the same way. Although it it divided into sections which are short stories within themselves, it was too beautiful to put down! More recently, I read ‘The Secret of Nightingale Wood’ very quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

