Books With Memorable Mother/Teen Relationships

Happy Mother’s Day! To celebrate this day, I thought I would talk about six books I have read that had mother/teen relationships that really stuck with me!

Everything Beautiful Is Not Ruined by Danielle Younge-Ullman – although a large portion of this book is set at a wilderness camp, there is a lot of development on Ingrid and her mother. This is one of the most interesting and unique mother/daughter relationships I have read, and focuses on the good and the bad. This book comes out next month, so be sure to buy it as it is truly stunning!

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare – an all-time favourite of mine (as I’ve mentioned many MANY times), and one of the things that I love about this series is the relationship between Clary and her mum Jocelyn. Their relationship changes and develops throughout all six books, and their love for each other is so strong throughout.

Someone Else’s Life by Katie Dale – this book is slightly different from the other’s I have picked, mainly because at the mother, Trudie, died and is therefore not actually in the book. However, she is a very pivotal part of the plot, and I still think her, along with her daughter Rosie, really stood out for me when I read it.

How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne -this book is from another series that I love. In this story, Amber has a really rocky relationship with her mum, who was previously an alcoholic. Amber goes to visit her mother in the States, and as well as all the adorable romance that takes place, she also has to face her mum for the first time in years. I would definitely recommend this!

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – the mother/daughter relationship in this book is flawed, but very real. As Maddy is confined to the house, the number of characters in the book is limited, so her mum has a very central role. Although she is overprotective to say the least, I found their relationship so interesting.

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson – I read this book a few years ago, and I was struck by the relationship between Jude, Noah and their mother, in both her life and after she has died. For the two siblings, she means something similar in some ways, but very different in others, and it was so interesting to read!

***

I have realised that there are considerably more mother/daughter relationships in this list, but I that is purely a coincidence – I would love to hear about your own suggestions and favourite books!

2 thoughts on “Books With Memorable Mother/Teen Relationships

  1. Pingback: March Wrap Up & The Month Ahead | My Shelf & Myself

  2. Pingback: March Wrap Up & April TBR – Bookends and Endings

Leave a Reply

