Your Favourite Music Book Tag

It’s time for another tag! This one is the ‘Your Favourite Music’ book tag, created by Debbie from Debbie’s Library. Thank you so much to Lia from Lost In A Story for tagging me – her post and just her blog in general is FAB so definitely check it out!

Also, I am aware that I have been doing a lot of tags and reviews recently – I have had exams for the past couple of months (as I keep going on about) so have not had lots of time to think of more original, discussion-type content. I will work on that in the summer, but for now, this looked like fun and I really wanted to try it out!

The Rules

  • Tag the creator of this tag and the one who tagged you
  • Pick 5 songs (or more) that you just have to listen whenever they are played
  • Pick the books/characters you think fit that song the best, and explain why you pick this book/character for this song
  • Tag some friends!

The books!

The songs!

Miss Jackson by Panic! At The Disco

Way down ’til the fire finally dies out
You’ve got ’em wrapped around your finger watch ’em fall down
There’s something beautiful and tragic in the fall out
Let me say it one more time (Tragic in the fall out)

I really wasn’t sure about this one, but I eventually went with Isabelle Lightwood from The Mortal Instruments. Even though I know a big part of this song is that Miss Jackson is supposed to be kind of unbearable, and I adore Isabelle, I still think she is one of the most kick-ass characters I know, and she definitely has half of the other characters wrapped around her finger.

The Power of Love by Gabrielle Aplin

This time we go sublime
Lovers entwined divine divine
Love is danger, love is pleasure
Love is pure, the only treasure
I’m so in love with you
Make love your goal

This song immediately makes me think of Soulmates by Holly Bourne. This is the first book I read by Holly, and I loved it. It also made me cry (a lot). Both the book and this song are about love, and the passion and danger of it, so in my mind, I connect the two of them.

Miss You by Ed Sheeran

Shock, horror, I’m down,
Lost, you’re not around
There’s a lump in my chest
That sends cold through my head, and
My mind shuts sound out
I’m on auto-pilot,
And my tongue’s gone silent

For some reason, this song makes me think of The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson; this song is actually a love song, but I was struggling to think of any love stories to match it too. This book focuses heavily on Lennie’s grief after her sister dies, and I think that, if you ignore the romantic aspect to this song, it fits perfectly.

Youth by Troye Sivan

And when the lights start flashing like a photo booth
And the stars exploding
We’ll be fireproof

For this song I went with I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson. I know, I know, I’ve included two Jandy Nelson books – but it works! One of my reasons for this is that this book is very poetic, and filled to the brim with metaphors. Troye’s song is also very poetic, so I think they fit nicely. This song makes me think in particular of Noah and Brian, and their relationship.

Wonderland by Taylor Swift

Didn’t it all seem new and exciting?
I felt your arms twisting around me
It’s all fun and games ’til somebody loses their mind.

But darling, we found wonderland
You and I got lost in it
And we pretended it could last forever

This one was easy for me – Heartless by Marissa Meyer. I mean, the whole book is about the Queen of Hearts from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, and a first love that is wild and exciting and heading for a messy end. So yeah, this book is perfect for this (and perfect in general, in my opinion – I adore this book)!

***

This was lots of fun, and actually quite a bit harder than I expected. Thanks again to Lia for tagging me, and please let me know your own thoughts on any of these songs/books!

I tag (and if you have done this already, please do link me to your post!):

And anyone else who wants to try this!

Leave a Reply

