Summer Book Recs 2017

IMG_20170721_113034_989.jpg

Summer is here (and has been for like a month now but oh well), so I thought it was time for some summer recs. Although personally, my reading habits do not really change much in the summer, a lot of people go on a big contemporary kick, and so here are some books which, in my opinion, ooze sunshine, and would be absolutely perfect reads for this summer!

My first recommendation has to be Truth or Dare by Non Pratt (review here), which is about two teenagers who start a YouTube channel in order to raise money for charity. I have literally been recommending the hell out of this book ever since I read it in April – I went on holiday with a friend of mine last week, and I lent her my copy of Truth or Dare to read. It was her first book of the year, and she loved it! So this is definitely a book to read this summer!

Another perfect book for summer is If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak (review here), the story of two teenagers, Linny and Sebastian, who fall into each other one summer in their search for loved ones who disappeared. Although there are some heavier topics covered in this book, such as loss and grief, in general I found it to be totally adorable, with one of the sweetest romances I have read in a while – this is a book to be read whilst lying in the sun!

Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt is my next recommendation – this is a story set at various conventions, and is about the romance between Lexi, a Conventions Kid, and Aidan, a young author. Although this book takes place throughout the course of the year, I always associate conventions with summer, and so I think this is especially perfect to get you in the mood for YALC, if you are going this year!

Everything Beautiful is Not Ruined by Danielle Younge-Ullman is about a girl, Ingrid, who is accidentally sent on a wilderness camp for troubled youths, and is stuck there for three weeks. This book has a teensy bit of romance, but I would say it is much more of a ‘self-discovery’ type book, so if you wanted something without a love story, this is perfect!

Two books I have yet to read, but that intended to read over the summer, are When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon, which I have heard is absolutely hilarious and also has a cover which just screams of summer, and The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli, which I have said many times I am so so excited for and looks to be positively adorable.

***

These are all 2017 releases, and all totally stunning, so if you are looking for some contemporary YA to read this summer, I really hope you try some of these! If you have any summer-y reads you would like to recommend, please do, as I always love hearing other people’s recommendations.

6 thoughts on “Summer Book Recs 2017

  1. Blue books!! Such a pretty picture! Also (don’t hate me), I haven’t read a single one of these. Ahhhhh I need to get on that! Some of these I’ve been hearing so much about and they sound so amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

