Classics Crackdown

classics tbr.jpg

This summer I decided it was time for me to have a classics crackdown – alongside YA, of course. I want to read more, and read widely, discovering books I love from hundreds of years ago, as well as keeping up with all the wonderful YA being published. I may be giving myself too much to do, but I suppose only time will tell. And I thought I would begin sharing all my classic-related endeavours with you, lovely reader (though I am sure these posts will be quite infrequent, as after all, this is a YA blog).

I’m beginning with something super fun and interesting: my compulsory summer reading list. Or rather, my summer reading list-that-is-kinda-voluntary-but-I’ll-read-them-all-anyway-because #OVERACHIEVER.

Although, to be honest, I think the task seems quite fun (but maybe that’s just the English nerd in me). There are three lists: eighteenth and nineteenth century fiction (worth 3 points each), twentieth century fiction (2 points) and twenty-first century fiction (1 point). And we need to gain seven points over the summer.

Anyway, in the past week or so I have read 1984 by George Orwell and Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (both of which I adored), and have picked out another thirteen books:

  1. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  2. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  3. Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy
  4. A Room With A View by E. M. Forster
  5. Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
  6. The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger
  7. Catch 22 by Joseph Heller
  8. Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit by Jeannette Winterson
  9. The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter
  10. Atonement by Ian McEwan
  11. All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
  12. The Last Weekend by Blake Morrison
  13. We Need To Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

I know, I know – this is a lot of books. Pretty much one every other day. But if I manage it, I should end up with thirty-three points by the end of the summer, so I really want to give it a go!

I just thought I would share this with you, to see what you guys think of these novels, or of classical fiction in general (and if you too think this task looks fun, please let me know!). Also to give myself more of a goal – it’s pretty much set in stone once it’s on the blog, right?

15 thoughts on “Classics Crackdown

  1. There are SO many good books Here! A Room With a View is one of my absolute favourites! I love classics, but I don’t see much love for them in the blogging world. I might aim to pick up a few this summer too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read Frankenstein this year and it was really difficult to get into Mary Shelley’s writing at first but once I was about half way through I started really loving it! Good luck hope you get to read them all 😄

    Kizzi May
    kizzimay.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

