Books We’re Taking On Holiday (feat. Bookends And Endings)

August has arrived, and myself and my sister Jess (blogger at Bookends And Endings) are off on a family holiday for a few weeks – which hopefully means lots and lots of reading. This post was inspired by booksandquills on YouTube, so be sure to check out Sanne’s video here!

Jess and I will each be sharing the YA books we are taking on holiday. As I have mentioned in previous posts, I have also taken a whole lot of classics to read for school, but I already sort of covered that in my classics TBR. So I may not have time to read all the YA I am bringing, but I will certainly try!

Jess’s Books

IMG_20170731_003044_081.jpg

I was lucky enough to be sent a copy of Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han a little while back by Scholastic, and I have been much anticipating the final instalment of this series, so this one was definitely a no-brainer to bring on holiday. The cover is beautiful, and I’m hoping it’s going to be a romantic conclusion to a series that was fraught with drama and confusion.

Next up is a pair of books, which are actually in the same series: The Moonlight Dreamers and Tell It to the Moon by Siobhan Curham. This series is about four girls who form a friendship group, and with the support of each other they all find the courage to start truly following their dreams. I think I’m going to thoroughly enjoy it, as this kind of strong female friendship is just the sort of thing I love to read about. I received The Moonlight Dreamers in a giveaway 11 months ago, and Tell It to the Moon was a recent acquisition courtesy of Walker Books, so I also really want to read them both together so that I can do a doubled up review for my blog (and maybe something with the author too, if it works out!).

My final pick for the summer was The Dollmaker of Krakow by R. M. Romero. I read proofs and provide reviews for a local independent bookshop, and this was the last book of last month’s batch, so I knew this was one I definitely wanted to get through. I’ve already started reading, and although it’s aimed for a younger age group, which means I probably wouldn’t have picked it up if I wasn’t reading it with a purpose, it’s still an interesting story, set in Poland during WW2. It’s sad knowing what will happen to the Jewish characters in the book as well, what with the involvement of the Nazis – a horrible period of human history.

My Books

IMG_20170731_003014_298.jpg

Firstly I am bringing The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder, which has been on my TBR for absolutely ages! The book is about a girl who has collected various objects, and she uses them to tell the story of a romance that went wrong. This book has been on my shelf for such a long time, and I’m excited to finally read it.

I am also bringing Letter To My Fanny by Cherry Healey – this is technically non-fiction rather than YA, but I still think it fits very well with a YA audience. I won this months ago in one of Grace Latter’s giveaways, and have yet to read it; the book is basically about all things to do with your body and accepting yourself, and I think it will also be very educational and interesting!

Another book I am bringing is The Power by Naomi Alderman. This book has been everywhere in literally every Waterstones recently – I briefly mentioned The Power in my June book haul, but essentially in this book, women gain this great ‘power’ over men, flipping the power dynamic between them. I know. It sounds crazy good. Again, I think this is adult fiction rather than YA, but I still have it listed in my mind under ‘fun’ rather than ‘work’, and I really am looking forward to reading it!

The final YA I am bringing is The Fandom by Anna Day – I received a proof of this at YALC (and got it signed!), and it is one of the books I was most excited about getting there! The story, in which a group of teenagers being transported to the fictional world they adore, sounds absolutely stellar. I also may have peeked at the first few pages in the signing queue and I’m just a little bit in love already.

***

Of course, Jess and I each have a kindle, so if somehow we read all of these, we still have lots more books to choose from! What are your reading plans for the next of the summer? And if you have any tips on how to carry books when on holiday, do let me know, because I the amount of time I spend trying to strategically pack books is slowly killing me.

5 thoughts on “Books We’re Taking On Holiday (feat. Bookends And Endings)

Leave a Reply

