Reordering, Restacking, Reshelving

I think I may have mentioned this in a previous post, but what tends to happen is that I bring books that I’ve read before to my bed, reread different parts for a couple of nights, then place it on my bedside table once I’m finished. This means that books begin to accumulate all around my bed until I have literally no space left. Very occasionally, I feel motivated to sort all these books out, and this time I thought hey, why not blog about it?

There is very little space in my bedroom, so I actually keep very few of my newer books in my room. Although I do have a bookcase, a lot of the books on it are quite old, so I will probably have to sort through that at one point too.

Obviously, this is not a bookstagram, and my blog is not picture-focused, but there will be quite a lot of photos in this particular post.

16129317_1880166295603103_891072387_o
Before

I did actually clear a lot of the stuff off my desk before I started taking photos, both to show the books more clearly, and also to pretend that the mess isn’t that bad. About ten minutes before this photo was taken, it was impossible to even see the surface of my desk.

This is some of the mess up close, where you can see how I’ve crammed into any reachable space – and yes, that is a Nutella jar on my desk. I also found a copy of Four on the floor, after I went to put it down one night and realised that if I added any more books to the pile next to my bed, it would probably topple (I’m very sorry, Veronica Roth).

16107728_1880166115603121_2045683835_o

The first books I sorted out were:

  • The Yellow Room by Jess Vallance
  • Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
  • City of Halves by Lucy Inglis
    • City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
    • City of  Glass by Cassandra Clare

A few of the books in my room need to go back to the library, but most of these were going on my small desk ‘shelf’. I also put my kindle on charge, because I frequently forget to do that.

Due to a bit a bit of 2012 nostalgia, I recently reread a few scenes from Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer (and discovered that I now find Edward hugely problematic). My copies of The Amazing Book is Not On Fire and Dan Phil Go Outside aren’t the same as my other books, and so needed to be homed somewhere other than a bookcase, and as The Bane Chronicles is also massive, I had to move it across my room to my shelf. As for my Heartless ARC, this is a book I absolutely adore, and so I decided to keep it as close to my bedside as possible, as I expect I will reread it sometime very soon.

A few of the books in the pictures above include: The Leaving by Tara Altebrando, Divergent by Veronica Roth, …And a Happy New Year? by Holly Bourne and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Caroll, as well as a small notebook I use to keep recipes. These books were all tidied into either my desk shelf, my book shelf, or into a pile of books heading back to the library.

In total there were around 20 books in the space, and I decided not to go through all of them to avoid this post becoming too long.

16129250_1880165845603148_952997312_o
After

There’s something very satisfying about having your books organised and tidy, so hopefully I can try not to let my desk become too cluttered again! And if any of you have any unorganised, bad habits like this, I would love to hear about them.

 

Leave a comment